A Review of the “Power of the Pen” by Rico Lamoureux

I wouldn’t even be mentioning this if it didn’t affect my life, because this book is about my story, not anyone else’s. But when someone’s actions directly affect me, then that’s exactly what it turns into–my story as well.” Rico Lamoureux, Power of the Pen (456-457).

Power of the Pen is the autobiography of writer Rico Lamoureux. This book details his story of survival, blindness, hope,  life in the Third World, and most importantly, truth. Learn more about him in “An Interview with Rico Lamoureux, Author Without Eyesight but With Great Insight.  I gave this book 5 stars for Lamoureux’s storytelling ability and bravery.

5

At first, I was worried when I realized that this book was over 500 pages long, but after the first ten pages, Lamoureux didn’t disappoint. If you’re willing to give this book a chance, there’s a lot you can take away from it. For now, let’s focus on just 3 major things.

Three major things you can take away from this book:

  • The world is a lot smaller and connected than we sometimes care to realize. 
    • Rico’s life takes him in all sorts of directions. For example, he was actually in the airport during an LAX shooting (459), has a close encounter with Rosie O’Donnell on the Tonight Show (502), somehow gets an angel investor to pay for an eye surgery (523), and ends up in a hospital where he randomly meets the mother of someone he knew who died years prior (511).
    • I really liked Rico’s book but to be honest, it may be because I related to it on another level. Mainly, he expressed my frustrations with the Philippines and the culture, continuing to prove this very point–the world is small. I’ve had to deal with the scammy airport workers (461), being treated like an American cash cow (487), and being disappointed with the food and availability of it (463, 483), too.
      • Though he states, “I’m sure there’s going to be people out there who will despise what I have to say about living in the Philippines, the fact will remain that all I’m doing is recounting my experiences” (525), there is truth in what he says. And I agree furthermore with the following statements:
        • “the total disregard for being true to one’s word, it’s no wonder life in general is so hard in the Philippines” (540).
        • “When you live in an underdeveloped country you come across universal problems, only they’re worsened tenfold” (484).
  • There’s beauty in transparency.
    • Lamoureux is very transparent about what has occurred in his life to a point that it will break your heart. It is this transparency though, that makes his work refreshing and captivating; you’ll want to lean in and read more.
    • He’s transparent about his mother’s abusiveness (29), his mother’s faults with drugs and how she leads her children into them (31), and the betrayal by his brother who grows up to be just like their mother (506) in a way that makes him very courageous. His family will anger you!
  • Don’t give up on what you’re passionate about. 
    • Think about it. How many people have you met who blame their past on their present? How many of you would sit back after becoming legally blind? Even though Rico has gone through so many bad things, he continues forward and I hope that he finds success.

-E

 

