An Interview with Rico Lamoureux, Author Without Eyesight but With Great Insight

One comment
 “But even when I was at my initial stage of childhood I somehow knew I’d tell the world my personal story. And now, here it is.”
-Rico Lamoureux on Power of the Pen: An Autobiography

Q: What inspired you write this book? 

I’ve lived quite a diverse life, with each chapter feeling like a whole separate life in itself. This reincarnation of sorts has provided a vast array of experiences, but even when I was at my initial stage of childhood I somehow knew I’d tell the world my personal story. And now, here it is. 🙂

Q: What challenges did you have while writing it?

I didn’t really have any challenges with the actual writing of it, unless you consider the fact that I had to revisit some harsh memories. But that’s fine, as one should never hide from the past, but instead realize it’s part of who they are, while making sure not to necessarily let it define their present and future.
Physically it was quite a challenge, having to use the aide of a magnifying glass to do so, since I’m totally blind in one eye and legally blind in the other. It hasn’t always been that way; you’ll have to read the book to learn of that story and many more.

41c1ee77fflQ: What do you want readers to take away from reading your book(s)?

Whether it be this autobiography or the fiction I write, the one common element I want readers to take away is the truth in the writing. Those who recognize and embrace such [truth] prove themselves to be beautifully open-minded people. On a personal level, different people will take away different things, depending on perspective, where they’re at in life, etc. That’s why this book is for anyone who considers themself to be open-minded and respectful of truth.
It doesn’t matter how old you are, what sex you are, background, preferred genre, etc. If you’re human, if you’re a student of life, this book is for you.

Q: If you could live in the story of a book, which one would you live in? 

Hmmm, that can be a doubled-edged sword because any good story has drama, and drama is conflict, so one would have to be prepared to deal with this conflict–not just reaping the positive aspects of the tale. So, to answer your question, I guess I’d want to go into one that involves a time machine, so as to have as much control over things as possible. 
I don’t mean that in a dictatorial kind of way, although sometimes with the world the way it is, I don’t think that would be such a bad thing. LOL!  

Q:  When you’re not writing what do you do?

I am a lifelong lover of story. Fiction, nonfiction, films, TV, music, etc. So for me, absorbing great storytelling is one of the greatest joys in life. But nowadays, finding such greatness is not so easy. There’s a lot of repetition, fluff, cliched crap out there, so whenever I do come across something great, I’m indeed a happy camper!

Q: What else have you written? What else do you write? 

I’m a multi-genre dramatist. I’ve written over a dozen novellas and hundreds of short stories. My energy is now focused on my new blog, The Flash Fiction Ponder, where I post my current work twice a week.  

Q: What’s your “writer studio” like or where do you feel inspired to write?

The only thing I really require is a decent table, chair and good lighting. A quiet environment is always nice, but sometimes I go ahead and write at a fast food restaurant on days where I just want a quick meal so I can get to the writing. This was the case during the month of October, when my stories were laced in some form of darkness in honor of Halloween. But yeah, I hope to have a great office built sometime in the near future. 🙂

Q: Of all the character’s you have written, do you have a favorite?

I’m not a parent yet, but I can imagine that this would be like asking someone who has more than one child who their favorite is. All the characters I’ve written have a special place in my heart. From the noble acts of Jeremy Riker in Riker’s Calling to the driven nature of Lacey, a young woman in a couple of my most recent stories (Lacey’s Becoming/That EXTRA Something) on The Flash Fiction Ponder. They are all very special to me.

Q: When did you know that you wanted to be a writer and how long have you been writing professionally?

Subconsciously, I’ve always known, being drawn to story from as early as I can remember. But life doesn’t always give you the obvious answers, so, on a professional level, I’ve been writing for about seventeen years.

Q: Where do you think book publishing will be in 10 years from now?

Less print and more tales told digitally, although it will still take another generation before we really start to see that bleak sci-fi future of actual printed books being a thing of the past. Also, novel-length stories will lose their allure, new generations choosing the shorter form of novellas, short stories, and flash fiction as their preferred length of literary works. The one thing that won’t change is the love for a great story, yet we must keep in mind that like any other art, this is subjective. 
Thanks for having me, Eleonor, it was a pleasure!   

Learn more about Rico at: http://www.TheFlashFictionPonder.com and grab a copy of his book, Power of the Pen.
-E
1 comments on “An Interview with Rico Lamoureux, Author Without Eyesight but With Great Insight”

Comments are closed.