Book Review: The Things We Wish Were True

 The Things We Wish Were True by Marybeth Mayhew Whalen is a random audio book I found on Amazon one day. I wanted to have something for my long drives to work and around town. It’s not normally something that I would’ve picked but I was curious to see what the hype was about. It’s currently got over 2,000 reviews on Amazon! That’s pretty amazing considering there are just way too many books there as it is. Did I mention that it’s also fairly new? Like, it was published last month and it’s already done unbelievably well. It’s published by Lake Union Publishing, an Amazon imprint, so this is probably why.

So did it live up to expectations? I’d say yes, four stars, yes.

4

 

This is a great read for anyone who likes drama with mystery sewn in. The audio book was pretty worth the money! I’ll admit that initially, I didn’t like the actress’ scratchy voice but she’s better farther in the book so give her a chance. She’s also really good at accents!

What’s it about?

It’s got a Hope Floats vibe to it; one of the main characters returns home after a devastating event pretty much ends her marriage. And the story is pretty much about a group of people in a small town. Don’t get me wrong,  there’s definitely enough drama in this story to really keep you interested!

Your stomach will churn when you learn the creepy guy on the street really is creepy! You’ll want to burst when he goes after a young girl. You may even want to vomit a little. You’ll feel really bad for one of the families when you learn how a stalker is related to them in the story, too.

I was most tickled by all the love relationships going on in the story! I was really entertained by the strange love triangle dynamic going on with Bright, a woman who after finally winning the man she’s always wanted, has to deal with her his first love coming back to town. To add to the drama, his first love was her best friend growing up.

Get your copy here: The Things We Wish Were True: A Novel

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

