Life Update #2: Helicopter Cemeteries & Computer Screens

No comments
cdkzz_-w4aav547
My bird-chasing sidekick, Lana.

It’s been about six months since I first posted on WP so, why not bore you with a life update? It’s been nine months since I moved to Hawaii and started my career in publishing, 10 months since I graduated with my bachelor’s degree, and 4 weeks since I started grad school. That’s pretty much my life right now: work, school, family things. It’s been 7 months since I adopted a dog at the shelter in Honolulu. I never thought that I’d be a dog person but, I’m really enjoying having this creature follow me around everywhere. Every few days I walk my dog through the manicured, identical housing complexes of a military post, past a field where they keep retired helicopters. This is how I get my fresh air! It’s also time to detach from real life and a way I find a little peace.

I work mostly in front of a computer screen now, for both school and work. There are days where I’m at my computer for 10 hours straight. My days start at 7 AM and if I’m lucky, they end at 11 PM and I get to do something that I want to do. My current guilty pleasure is The Dead Files and just about anything that plays on InvestigationID. I also make time to read. A few days out of the month I drive an hour to work so I make time to listen to audio books, too.

If you’re thinking about going to George Washington University for your graduate degree in publishing, well, I’ve got a few things to say to you. That whole, “it’s a part-time degree so you can work full-time” stuff is total bogus. You’ll be tethered to your class and textbook all day regardless, but you’ll have a cohort to stress out with. The whole, “it’s a great school and the online programs are really good” stuff is totally true, though. I honestly thought it was going to suck because I’ve taken online programs before and it was all independent work. My GWU experience has been completely different and great so far.

Yes. Things are pretty routine now but I can’t complain. I’m really looking forward to Halloween! Another thing that has been in the back of my mind: how to help people through my chosen profession. I get a lot of satisfaction from what I do now, don’t get me wrong. I just wish that I could do more good in the world. You know, play a larger role in making things better. I’m still mulling over how and if you have any suggestions, I’m all ears.  It’ll come to me eventually–I hope.

Hope that was boring as hell for you because it was for me.

-E

