Bear vs. Bare: This is a Bear

It’s just another one of those confusing words, dear writer. And another reason why math and science people hate lovers of English. Sometimes the words and rules just don’t make any sense do they! Don’t think I don’t know your pain. In fact, I’m the designer of  the “Why English is so Hard” print. But as a proofreader, this is for all of those who get the words, “bear” and “bare” mixed up. Even I mix things up from time to time. No one is perfect!


This is a bear.

4399933889_1e813c542f_z

He’s so cute that I can’t bear it! But if his skin were bare, I think he’d look like a giant mole-rat and I would run from him. It’s the fur that keeps him cute.

Bear-an animal found in the wilderness that we all think loves honey, or a word meaning “to carry”.

  • For example, “we bear the cross” and “we no longer enjoy the bear at the circus”.

Bare- to uncover or is a synonym for “naked”.

  • For example, “the bear bared it’s teeth at me so I ran” and “we’re hungry but the cupboards are bare.”

 

-E

 

Photo credit: San Diego Shooter vis Visual Hunt.

 

2 thoughts on “Bear vs. Bare: This is a Bear

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

