Why you Should NaNoWriMo This November

NaNoWriMo (National November Writing Month) is a quirky 501 (c)(3) nonprofit organization that initiates a monthlong writing challenge in a fun way! Yes, you read that right: write a novel in 30 days! It’s not impossible and what do you have to lose?

 

Taking the NaNoWriMo challenge means that a writer has pledged, along with thousands of other writers all over the world, to complete a 50,000 word novel during the month of November. A writer “wins” NaNoWriMo by completing their novel.

NaNoWriMo won’t write the novel for you, so it is a race to the finish line!  The site keeps writers engaged several ways. Writers are set up with other authors regionally so that they can not only engage on the NaNoWriMo site, but, can set up meetings locally. You can also unlock badges as you progress and forums, writing help, and professional speakers are available.

Great things:

  • Positive environment and lots of writers taking the challenge with you!
  • Donations are appreciated but are optional.
  • Cool badges that are actually fun to unlock!
  • The site keeps a count of how many words you write and how far you are to 50,000.
  • During off-season NaNoWriMo sponsors “Camp NaNoWriMo” in April! You’re assigned a cabin and writers decide what their goal will be. Some writers even choose to spend April just editing the novel that they wrote in November.

Greater things:

As of today, over 300 novels that started off as NaNoWriMo challenges were picked up by publishing houses. Have you heard of Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen? That was NaNoWriMo book. Among the big publishing houses that have picked up NaNoWriMos are Penguin, HarperCollins, Scholastic, and Houghton Mifflin, just to name a few. For the complete list click here.

Though Camp NaNoWriMo has already begun this month, there’s still plenty of time to start drafting ideas for November so, pens up!

-E

NaNoWriMo logo image courtesy of National Novel Writing Month.
5 thoughts on “Why you Should NaNoWriMo This November

    1. That is super awesome! I participated last November but should’ve thought it through. I was going to school and working two jobs. This April, I decided to scrap my story. I just fell out of love with it but I think I finally found the story I’m going to finish. FINALLY. What are you working on? 🙂

      Like

      1. I’m still learning what works and what doesn’t work for me. :/ I wish I had my method perfected already but I don’t. Lol, one day. Do you use a typewriter? Hand write? Have a method? 🙂 It’s such a slow process but I realized I like my writing a lot better when I write by hand on lined paper. It takes forever but I get a better product.

        Like

      2. I can’t write by hand because my handwriting is terrible, and everything looks much clearer on the screen. It would be nice to write with a typewriter one day, but for now I’ll stick with MS Word!

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

