Every Writer Needs a Mood Board

A method that I learned while attending art classes at a community college in Virginia was the use of mood boards to develop ideas. The point of a mood board is to physically demonstrate what’s going on in that beautiful mind of yours!  A mood board promotes the artistic style that you want, encourages artistic consistency, and helps with project completeness.

In the art world, we used magazine clippings, photographs, sketches, and other artists’ work. Today, I use Pinterest. It’s just the most effective way to collect images that inspire me. It’s simply click, collect, and review.

You can access my “For the Love of the Story” board whenever you’re feeling stuck.  It’s a collection I assembled for writers, proofreaders, editors, and publishing professionals. My end goal was to inspire and assist the process of building strong bodies of work.

Inspired writers are strong writers!

-E

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

